10 Major Parliamentary Terms used in Indian Parliament

The major parliamentary terms used in Indian parliament are as follows:

(i) Quorum:

It is the minimum number of members whose presence is essential to transact the business of the House.

(ii) Question-Hour:

The day’s business usually starts with the question-hour during which ques­tions are asked by the members and the answers are provided by the concerned Minister.

(iii) Zero Hour:

This period follows the question hour and generally begins at noon. Usually the time is used by members to raise various issues for discussion.

(iv) Starred Question:

It is one for which an oral answer is required to be given by the Minister on the floor of the House. Supplementary questions may be asked based on the Minister’s reply. The Speaker decides if a question should be answered orally or otherwise. One member can ask only one starred question in a day.

(v) Un-starred Question:

It is one for which the Minister lays on the table a written answer. A 10- day notice has to be given to ask such questions and no supplementary questions can be asked with regard to such questions.

(vi) Short Notice Questions:

It can be asked by members on matters of public importance of an urgent nature. It is for the Speaker to decide whether the matter is of urgent nature or not. The member has also to state reasons for asking the questions while serving notice.

(vii) Point of Order:

A member may raise a point of order if the proceedings of the House do not follow the normal rules. The Presiding officer decides whether the point of order raised by the mem­bers should be allowed.

(viii) Vote on Account:

AS there is usually a gap between the presentation of the budget and its approval, the vote on account enables the government to draw some amount from the Consolidated Fund of India to meet the expenses in the intervening period.

(ix) Guillotine:

The act of putting all the demands for grant to vote, without discussion on the last day earmarked for the discussion of the budget is called guillotine.

(x) Lame-duck Session:

This session is held when a new Parliament has been elected but the old Parliament meets for the last time before it is dissolved. The lame-ducks are the members of the Parliament who have not got re-elected.

Submitted by : Professor Aliyah, Category : Parliament, Tag : Parliament