10 Important Legal Remedies Available for Consumers

The idea of consumers’ protection is not new. Government has made many efforts in this direction from time to time. Many steps have been taken to provide legal protection by making some legal provisions in the relevant law. Some legal remedies are the following:

(1) The Consumer Protection Act, 1986 (CPA):

The Consumer Protection Act has been in force since 1986 for consumers’ protection and prosperity. This law offers protection against defective goods, deficient services, unfair trade practices and consumers’ exploitation.


Image Courtesy : diehardindian.com/images/law.jpg

Courts have been established under this law to provide the benefits to the consumers by protecting their rights. These courts are known as Three-tier Machinery: District Forum works at the district level, State Commission operates at the state level while the National Commission takes care of the consumers’ interests at the national level.

Provision has also been made to establish Consumer Protection Council for educating the consumers and encouraging consumer’s cause.

(2) The Contract Act, 1982:

This Act lays down the responsibilities of the contracting parties. This act also explains the conditions under which the aggrieved party can move against the defaulting party.

(3) The Sales of Goods Act, 1930:

This Act provides protection to the buyer in case the goods purchased are not according to the conditions of the sale.

(4) The Essential Commodities Act, 1955:

Following are some of the chief aims of this Act:

(i) Control over the production, supply and distribution of essential commodities.

(ii) Control over the tendency to increase prices.

(iii) Control over the unsocial activities like profiteering, hoarding and black-marketing.

(5) The Agricultural Produce (Grading and Marketing) Act, 1937:

Under this Act, there is a provision to check the quality of agricultural produce, e.g., the products are placed in separate categories according to the standards.

In this way, the products are marked according to the standards and that makes it easy to recognise them. Under this Act, there is a different mark to indicate the quality of the product. This mark is known as AGMARK (Agricultural Marketing).

(6) The Prevention of Food Adulteration Act, 1954:

Under this Act, there is a provision to protect consumers’ interest against adulteration of food articles.

(7) The Standards of Weights and Measures Act, 1976:

Under this Act, there is a provision to protect consumers’ interest against less weighing and measuring.

(8) The Trade Mark Act, 1999:

This act has replaced the Trade and Merchandise Marks Act, 1958. This Act provides protection to the consumers for wrong use of trade mark.

(9) The Competition Act, 2002:

This Act has replaced the Monopolies and Restrictive Trade Practices Act, 1969. This Act provides protection to the consumer against the activities hindering competition by businessmen in the market.

(10) The Bureau of Indian Standard Act, 1986:

Under this Act, the Bureau of Indian Standards has been established. It has two major functions:

(i) It decides the quality standards of various products. A company that fulfils these standards is allotted ISI mark under the BIS scheme. This shows that the product happens to be of high quality.

(ii) It hears the complaints of consumers against ISI marked products. A separate Grievance Cell has been provided for this purpose.

Submitted by : Dr. Aditi, Category : Consumers, Tag : Law